Posted by: clemscritters | November 11, 2010

Insomnia and Retirement

I woke up this morning at 4:30 am… a little earlier than normal; no work today in honor of the Veterans of this Country (thank you); tomorrow is my last day employed in over 30 years (more like almost 40); retirement is not exactly scary, because I know that I’ll be finding a part time job to keep busy probably within six months, but it is causing some insomnia lately;  list-making in your head is not very productive, especially at this age.  I need to write it all down and tic it off a to-do list as it gets done.

I need to learn some things, like how to upload pictures from my new phone to the computer so I can post some shots of the new barn/shed in North Carolina.  I also need to learn to be not employed.  I think this will be a challenge, when you have gotten up and gone to work for so many years, I am afraid that I’ll not be able to focus on the task at hand, and instead sit on the computer for many hours a day because that’s what I’ve always done.  Why is this keeping me awake?

Leave a Reply

Categories

