Posted by: clemscritters | May 25, 2010

New beginnings

Spring is a magical time.  Winter is long and boring; a real challenge here in the frozen north.  Now comes spring with babies everywhere and new adventures.  We are in the process of buying a mountain retreat, 4 acres near Sparta so we can move our home and flock there.  I was excited to think of farming a big land mass in Virginia and adding on goats and sheep; I have some trepidation about downsizing severely; perhaps because I don’t give things up easily.  Cows and piggy won’t be coming south, neither will inside fish or outside fish.  The big deal is leaving my son, who I don’t see often enough even though we live an hour away from each other.  Too busy, too fast and not enough time in the day.  I’m ok with it here because I know I can jump in the car and be there in an hour.  Besides, I have a lot to do to keep me busy.  Once I retire, downsize, and move 12 hours away, will I be able to stand it?  Will our time together be more intense and special because it will be less and further between visits?  Will I be able to be quiet with myself and DO the things I complain there isn’t time for?  all pretty good questions.

Leave a Reply

Categories

